top of page
  • Writer's picturelisahodgson01

Brekky time!

July 2021

Hello all!

Sorry I am late with this month’s blog, however I have had a lot going on this end and have only just stopped spinning.

I have been immersing myself in self development and trying to rest as I do it. I am also prone to working hard and this has me constantly being aware of taking time out. In other words, to walk the talk. I have slept and rested and found that my ideal sleep patterns are lights out by 9.30pm and rising between 6am and 8am depending on whether it’s a work day or weekend.

The reason I am telling you this is to show you how even a naturopath has to be conscious of balance that is suited to them.

This month I thought I would talk about breakfast. It is the most important meal of the day and even though some of you may practice intermittent fasting, that the first meal of the day, whether at 6am or 11am, is still important.

Healthy foods such as muesli, chia porridge, oat porridge, fruit, wholemeal or wholegrain toast and almond butter or even organic bacon and eggs are good ideas. Why bacon and eggs? This could be seen as Keto. Well I am a believer that a little bit of what we love is good for the soul as long as it is in moderation. Plus, I am of the belief that nitrate and nitrite free, organic bacon and free range eggs are not all that bad for you. We need to be careful if you have high cholesterol. However, high cholesterol is not due to just dietary choices. It is an essential molecule we need to create bile, hormones and cells and its presence can be due to high stress.

Bacon and eggs are protein, and this is a good choice for fuel in the morning. I am not necessarily a proponent of Keto, but it has its merits, and it is really good in certain medical situations. But we can get proteins from grains as well. Protein doesn’t spike our blood sugar levels like carbohydrates do and leads to more even blood sugar levels through the morning.

We still need carbs but in moderation and in whole food forms. So, on top of the chia porridge, you can have blueberries and banana with a dash of honey. Toast and nut butter or honey. Have an herbal tea or decaffeinated black tea or coffee if you can’t live without them.

I am not against butter either. Again, in moderation. Preferably from grass fed, organic dairy. So, a small amount of butter on toast with a drizzle of honey is nice. Be mindful all this above can be rotated for variety.

I also tend to like vegetable frittata for breakfast. I make a small frittata and put mixed frozen veg in it and the trick to really make it tasty is to get marinated feta and place quite a few chunks around the top of the frittata and then drizzle the herby oil on the top. I sometimes am naughty and add extra cheddar on top.

The whole point is to eat good quality produce that does not come out of a package. Wholefoods. Also, to not deprive yourself. Keep portions to a size that feels right for you. Making breakfast and lunch your main meals and dinner to be lighter for ease of digestion as you sleep. If you have blood sugar issues you may need individual care and advice. What I am saying here is meant for those who don’t necessarily have blood sugar issues. This is where snacks come in. To have on hand through the day things to nibble on that keep your blood sugar levels balanced. Nuts and seeds are a good example. Whole grain crackers with cheese and avocado.

Breakfast is when we fuel up for the day and I want you to enjoy it. Remember to eat slowly and chew thoroughly. Let the digestive process take place and to do its job. Try not to drink cold water with meals or after. This dilutes the stomach and secretions. Drinking warm water with half a lemon squeezed into it to kick start the metabolism and to help the liver in its detoxification processes.

Look after yourself and stay warm. We are trying not to get blown away here in Perth what with the storms. See you next time.

Lisa

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fatigue

February 2022 Hello again everyone! I do hope you are all doing well. This is a follow up blog on the tail end of my last live on Facebook and I thought I would put it into writing. Now we were talki

Diet and Nutrition

May/June 2021 Hello my friends!! I have been so busy in my business and behind the scenes in my life. I have also had some health issues and have been trying to rest. Healer, heal thyself as the sayin

Panic and Anxiety

April 2021 Hello all! Happy April! I am sorry I missed my blog last month. I was recovering from some health issues. I am back now and ready to go! This month I am writing about the topic I did a live

bottom of page