top of page
  • Writer's picturelisahodgson01

The Gut and Mood

July 4 2019

Happy July my friends. This months blog is about diet and mood. Now you hear us Naturopaths bang on all the time about how everything starts in the gut. Well I believe it is true. At least a lot of things start in the gut. The nutrients and supplements you take to help you with your conditions have to go through the digestive tract in order to be absorbed and if that isn’t working so good then it is a waste of time and money consuming them as they will just pass right through.

Digestion is important and so is acid production. If you have low stomach acid then food can’t be broken down into smaller molecules for digestion. Our mood is affected by neurotransmitters such as serotonin which makes you feel happy. Serotonin is mainly made in the gut and a little in the central nervous system. In order for the enteric nervous system to make serotonin you need tryptophan and zinc in your diet. You may eat things with tryptophan in them such as turkey or zinc producing fruit like nuts and seeds but are they being broken down and digested properly?

There could be inflammation in the gut which could lead to leaky gut syndrome and so less capacity for food molecules to cross the lumen into the blood stream. Or the too large molecules cross the lumen and are seen as pathogens and trigger an immune response leading to inflammation.

Then on top of that is there dysbiosis? Poor gut flora. Bacteria in the gut break down nutrients for better absorption or even need feeding themselves in order to help with the body’s nutrient levels. The whole body is a feedback system fighting constantly for homeostasis. If one part is out of whack it has a ripple effect.

So as you can see in order to help your moods then diet is imperative. Granted see your GP and mental health professional if you have a serious health condition but if you can be armed with an awareness that food, nutrition and gut health can impact on how you feel physically, emotionally and psychologically it means you can help yourself through your diet. As a naturopath with knowledge of both nutrition and herbs and how they improve our health I totally believe that a gentle and wholistic approach can benefit many with their mood. Exercise, vitamin D and debriefing with a therapist are also excellent self care strategies as well.

Well that’s my two cents worth for this month and I look forward to hearing from any of you whom need my guidance. Have a great July and I shall see you next month!

Lisa

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fatigue

February 2022 Hello again everyone! I do hope you are all doing well. This is a follow up blog on the tail end of my last live on Facebook and I thought I would put it into writing. Now we were talki

Brekky time!

July 2021 Hello all! Sorry I am late with this month’s blog, however I have had a lot going on this end and have only just stopped spinning. I have been immersing myself in self development and trying

Diet and Nutrition

May/June 2021 Hello my friends!! I have been so busy in my business and behind the scenes in my life. I have also had some health issues and have been trying to rest. Healer, heal thyself as the sayin

bottom of page